Human Rights committee moves against bad element

Dr. Osagie Obayuwana


By the general consent of delegates across the country and consistent with the Covid 19 Protocols, the Committee For the Defence of Human Rights (CDHR) virtually held its National Council (NC) meeting.


Delegates were drawn from the statutory members of the National Council including three(3) members each from twelve State Branches, members of the National Executive Committee (NEC) and Ex-Officio members constituting the National Council of the CDHR under the leadership of the National President, Comrade (Dr.) Osagie Obayuwana. The entire members of the Board of Trustees (BOT) under the leadership of its Chairman, Comrade Femi Falana (SAN) were also present, essentially, to present their Report to the Council. Council deliberated and adopted a robust agenda for the meeting which included, but not limited to, receiving from the BOT, considering and thoroughly deliberating the findings and recommendations and accordingly passing necessary resolutions on the Report of the Board of Trustees with respect to the crises in Delta and Lagos State Branches. Similarly, sundry acts of indiscipline and gross misconduct by some members of the National Executive Committee (NEC) were also considered and resolved on.


While the National President, Comrade (Dr.) Osagie Obayuwana presided over the meeting, the Chairman of the Board of Trustees (BOT), Comrade Femi Falana, SAN, presented the Report of the BOT tagged: "Restoring the Integrity of the CDHR: the Issues Arising from Delta and Lagos Branches and NEC". Other members of the Board of Trustees (BOT) who were also present at the virtual meeting included Comrade (Prof.) Lucky Akaruese (former President), Olugbenga Awosode (former President), Malachy Ugwummadu (former President) and Debo Adeniran (Pioneer General Secretary).


Presenting his Welcome Address, the President, Comrade (Dr.) Osagie Obayuwana appreciated the enduring commitment of members to the survival of CDHR. He appreciated the Board of Trustees for their resilience and commitment to the survival of the Organization. The President admonished members of CDHR against acts of indiscipline and misconduct that could undermine the objective and integrity of the Organization. He lamented the recent negative developments in CDHR as serious distractions that disrupted the effective operations of the National Executive Committee.


Within the context of the theme of the BOT Report and in consideration of the fragile state of the Organization to which the organization has been subjected, particularly in relation to the established acts of indiscipline and gross misconduct, delegates considered and deliberated on the findings and recommendations of the BOT and Unanimousely passed the following resolutions:


i. That the following individuals (former members of the National Executive Committee) should   be and were accordingly Expelled from CDHR: 


     a)      Tiaga Kehinde, former Vice President

     b)      James Chikwendu, former General Secretary

     c)       Gerald Katchy, former Publicity Secretary


ii. That Giama Jonathan, the former Secretary of the Delta State Branch should be and was accordingly Expelled from CDHR.


iii. That the following members of the National Executive Committee should be and were accordingly Suspended from CDHR for one (1) year: 


    a)    Barr. (Mr.) Violet Ekumakama, the Legal Adviser

    b)      Ayuba Musa, the Internal Auditor


Dr. Osagie Obayuwana

National President 

Committee for the Defence of Human Rights (CDHR)